Magic the Gathering Initial Review

So this is my second weekend play Magic the Gathering and I have to say that I am enjoying every game that I have played.

For those who have not played it. It is a Trading Card Game in which you summon creatures to both block damage from and deal damage to an opponent.

Naturally since you are summoning things and performing spells you play as a kind of wizard. In the Magic universe these wizards are called “Planeswalkers.” You can base your deck around the five colors or mana or magic. All of the starter decks come centered around 2 colors. From there you can choose for yourself whether or not to diversify.

For the most part game play is quick. There was little to no analysis paralysis except when we had to look up an effect or keyword. From what I can tell Magic releases new sets every year and each set has new keywords for each color.

I can honestly say that the starter packs seem like the most affordable way to get started and seem to be relatively well matched across the different color combinations.

Even though I currently have a loosing record, I look forward to my next game! I do. Not know why I have waited this long to get Into this game, especially since it is this nerdy.

I am going to give it a 4 out of 5 for the average nerdy gamer, +1 if you are into the fantasy genre and -1 if you do not like Trading Card Games.
Enjoy some pics of Alex and I playing today.

20140412-202704.jpg

20140412-202715.jpg

Leave a Reply

