So I own a Transformer!

This week I had the pleasure of having a Daddy Daughter day with Claire. In the early morning we headed off to the local University to see my little sister earn her BA in Creative Writing. That was an experience in and of itself and I will write about that in a later post.

The other big news (which pales in comparison) is that we have a acquired a new couch. Claire was very surprised to learn that this couch can turn into a bed. We spent some time pulling the cushions off the couch. Then I pulled the mattress out and set everything up. Claire then climbed up and invited our two dogs up onto the couch/bed.

We watched some Disney Junior and talked. Claire told me that she really enjoyed having a bed in the living room. I also explained that she can have the bed out when she gets older and has friends over to the house for sleepovers. Then I said that we needed to transform it back into a couch before Mommy comes home.

She was reluctant at first, and frankly who wouldn’t be when you discover something so amazing. But she finally agreed, but said she wanted to hid when Mommy got home and surprise her. That was when I had the idea to make the couch into a fort like when I was a kid…and that is exactly what we did. We sat patiently waiting for Mommy to come in the door when I got one of the best compliments I have ever gotten in my entire life. Claire looks up at me and says “Daddy, this is awesome!” My heart melted!

When has your heart melted? What was the best compliment you have gotten either from your child or someone you know? Leave a comment in the comments section. Also don’t forget to connect with me on Facebook Facebook.com/dadthegeekblog and follow me on Twitter at @dadthegeekblog

20140503-083046.jpg

20140503-083058.jpg

One thought on “So I own a Transformer!

  1. I loved it, Trey. I just discovered I have been missing a lot of your posts! I was depending on seeing the access on Facebook. I just added you to my “Blogs You Might Enjoy list on my blog. Hopefully, I will always see a new one roll up there and others might check you out too.

Leave a Reply

