New Year’s Resolutions

“Daddy, you have a big belly…like Mommy”

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/665/62276432/files/2014/12/img_0258.jpg

It seems like a ton of things have happened since my last full post. Claire turned three, which, according to an excuse we used when she was two, qualifies her to ride a camel at the zoo. She also had her first Christmas program at her school. Christmas morning had tons of charm. All of these things are absolutely adorable.

Now on to the main topic of today’s post. Now is the time of year people tend to start looking back and planning the next year and making New Year’s Resolutions. Although the subtitle is not an actual quote, I am waiting for the day that it is. Geeks and nerds have several stereotypes, one of which is being a little pudgy. Over the last year and a half I have gotten a lot pudgy for me.

This rapid weight gain has not gone unnoticed by my family and friends. Although I appreciate the concern that has been shown, but unfortunately I have also been the subject of some jokes within the family. One of the most hurtful was a theory about guessing the sex of our baby. Supposedly the girl sperm is more resilient and since I am overweight I somehow am killing the boy sperm, so Amanda and I must be having a girl.

They way some members of my family speak about it, I want to look at them and say “You think I don’t know? I am at the heaviest I have ever been in my life and you think I don’t know?!”

So where does that leave me? I like most Americans will be making the resolution to lose weight. Blogger ArtsyRobot (which you can find here) did a great article about staying positive about your Resolutions. But the key to any resolution or goal is to be SMART about it. SMART is an acronym which you can see below.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/665/62276432/files/2014/12/img_0256.jpg

My weight loss goal is to lose 30lbs by the end of the summer (before next school year), but hopefully before then. Specific this one is pretty easy I am going to lose weight. Measurable again pretty easy: I want to lose 30 lbs. I can measure this by using a simple bathroom scale. Achievable: I can certainly do this by working out and watching what I eat. Realistic: I think that this is certainly realistic. It is not like I am setting the goal of losing 100 lbs. Timely: I have given myself the time constraint of losing the weight by the end of the summer.

What New Year’s Resolution will you be making? Leave me a comment below. Also be sure to check out my social media pages. Facebook & Twitter

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Best of luck with the weight loss buddy.

  2. Pingback: Dad the Geek | Bump Watch and Resolution UPDATES!!

Leave a Reply

